FREE PhD study and funding virtual fair REGISTER NOW FREE PhD study and funding virtual fair REGISTER NOW
Bioscience Header

Funded Master's by research studentships competition - four places available

We present an exciting opportunity to fund the tuition and bench fees for up to four Master’s by Research projects within the Centre of Bioscience at Manchester Metropolitan University. The University rose 15 places in the recent Research Excellence Framework (REF2021) national league table overall and was ranked 15th out of 91 universities for Research Power in Allied Health Professions. Our Faculty of Science & Engineering is opening a new £100M building in 2023 and our adjacent laboratories underwent a complete refurbishment in 2021. Our Bioscience research is supported by state-of-the-art core facilities for imaging, genomics, flow cytometry and tissue processing. All core facilities are free to use for all research staff and students.

We are looking for highly motivated recent graduates with an interest in bioscience research to work on projects in the areas of Ageing & Lifelong Health, Cardiovascular Sciences, Microbiology or Neuroscience. Project titles are listed below and further details can be found on the Centre of Bioscience website. Applicants will work with the Primary supervisor for the chosen MSc (Res) project to develop a proposal for internal submission, assessment and approval.You will have access to state-of-the-art technologies and equipment, expert supervision and a research training programme that will allow you to develop research scientist skills.

Aims and objectives

The aims and objectives for each advertised Master’s by Research project will align with the strategic aims of the Centre for Bioscience and more widely with the Manchester Met Road to 2030 Strategic Plan. The project synopsis details each project’s aims and objectives.

Student eligibility

The duration of this role is 12-months with an expected start date of October 2022. Home fees are covered.

How to apply

Please state your project title preference in the application form. For more details of these specifc projects, please refer to the project outlines document. The top four strongest applications will be rewarded with funding (tuition and bench fees, Home equivalent). There is also the opportunity to apply for projects on a self-funded basis.

For more details on how to apply contact the project supervisor or Dr Fiona Wilkinson (f.wilkinson@mmu.ac.uk), the Research Degrees Coordinator.

To apply, please complete the PGR application form , indicating how you meet the essential and desirable criteria in the personal statement and which project you are applying for. Submit your application form by email to PGRAdmissions@mmu.ac.uk. Closing date 24 August 2022.

Please quote the reference: SciEng-CBS-MRes-comp-2022

Bioscience Image

For specific projects please contact the following academics:

  • The structure-function relationship of multimerin-1, a platelet protein. Contact : Dr Mareika Posner m.posner@mmu.ac.uk
  • Investigating the role of promoter methylation and altered gene expression in age related cognitive decline. Contact : Dr Jane Sarginson j.sarginson@mmu.ac.uk
  • Investigating the efficacy of gliotoxin and its epidithiodiketopiperzaines analogues to prevent immunothrombosis. Contact : Dr Marilena Crescente m.crescente@mmu.ac.uk
  • Functional health of conduit arteries in European ethnic minorities. Contact : Dr Rehan Junejo r.junejo@mmu.ac.uk
  • Investigation into bacteriophages infecting emerging nosocomial pathogenic species and synergistic antimicrobial activity. Contact : Dr Kate Hargreaves k.hargreaves@mmu.ac.uk
  • Identification of Novel Vaccine Candidates for Trichuris trichiura (Whipworm) Contact : Dr Rebecca Shears r.shears@mmu.ac.uk
  • Arc/Arg3.1as a key regulator of APP processing through autophagy. Contact: Prof. Sonia Correa-Muller, Email: s.correa-Muller@mmu.ac.uk
  • Unravelling the role of selective microglial phagocytosis of synaptic sub-types in the prodromal stages of Alzheimer’s disease. Contact: Dr Llwyd Orton l.orton@mmu.ac.uk

PhD saved successfully
View saved PhDs