Anglia Ruskin University Featured PhD Programmes
CoSector, University of London Featured PhD Programmes
Ulster University Featured PhD Programmes
King’s College London Featured PhD Programmes
University of Hull Featured PhD Programmes
Women in STEAM Postgraduate Research

Women in STEAM Postgraduate Research Scholarship

Faculty of Science, Engineering and Built Environment, Deakin University, Australia.

Deakin University recognises that women remain under-represented in Science, Technology, Engineering, Architecture and Maths (STEAM) – including our Higher Degrees by Research (HDR) cohort and in our academic staff. Deakin is committed to Gender equity, diversity and inclusion, and is an active participant in the SAGE Athena SWAN program. We have made major strides in improving diversity in our school and faculty leadership team, and we are now focussing on gender equity in our female students. To help promote long term change, we are offering multiple Women in STEAM PhD scholarships which support female PhD students to work on a research project supervised by at least one female academic supervisor.

These scholarships are available to prospective Domestic (Australian) or International female PhD students to conduct a research project with an academic supervisory team in any discipline area across the Schools and Research Centres of the Faculty of Science, Engineering & Built Environment. The academic supervisory team must be comprised of at least one female supervisor and one early/mid-career academic.

Application type:

All applicants must complete and submit an Expression of Interest (EOI) form prior to applying via the Higher Degree by Research Application Form. Please return the completed form to: [email protected] Please ensure you have contacted and received a response from a potential Deakin Supervisor before submitting your EOI. The Faculty will then advise whether or not you should proceed in applying for the scholarship scheme. The EOI Form and further details on the application process can be found here,

Applicable study areas:

Any project with an approved academic supervisory team from any of the Schools within Faculty of Science, Engineering & Built Environment.

The Faculty of Science, Engineering and Built Environment (SEBE) operates across 4 campuses (Burwood - Melbourne, Geelong Waterfront, Geelong Waurn Ponds and Warrnambool) and two research stations (Queenscliff, VIC and Griffith, NSW). SEBE consists of four schools, each with a multi-discipline mix of teaching and research offerings and a strong emphasis on research excellence that informs our teaching programs:

  • Science: School of Life and Environmental Sciences (Biological Science, Biomedical Science, Biotechnology, Fisheries and Aquaculture, Forensic Science, Environmental Management and Sustainability, Marine Biology, Sustainable Regional Development, Wildlife and Conservation Biology, Zoology and Animal Science) including the Centre for Regional and Rural Futures (CeRRF) and the Centre for Integrative Ecology (CIE).
  • Technology: School of Information Technology (Computer Science, Creative Technologies, Cyber Security, Data Science, Software Engineering, Virtual Reality, Mathematics) including the Centre for Cyber Security Research and Innovation (CSRI).
  • Engineering: School of Engineering (Civil, Electrical and Renewable Energy, Engineering Management, Environmental Engineering, Mechanical, Mechatronics, and Mechanical Design);
  • Architecture: School of Architecture and Built Environment (Architecture, Construction Management);
  • Mathematics: modelling of any description in any of the above schools as appropriate for the project.
Women in STEAM Postgraduate Research

Scholarship information:

This scholarship provides an indexed tax-free stipend ($28,092 in 2020), for up to three years for a Doctorate by research, subject to satisfactory progress. The scholarship offers leave provisions and allowances. The successful applicant may be eligible to receive an RTP fee offset, which provides an exemption from tuition fees. Additional funds may be available to support fieldwork, conference or collaborative travel during candidature.

Selection criteria and eligibility:

Prospective students who self-identify as women or as gender diverse or non-binary and who are aiming to start a PhD in the Faculty of SEBE at Deakin University in 2020 are eligible to apply. The successful candidates must satisfy the minimum entry requirements for HDR students as set out in the University Handbook. To remain eligible, the candidate must maintain the minimum PhD candidature requirements as established by Deakin University. Some candidates may be eligible for part-time PhD study for all or part of the project, with a pro-rata PhD scholarship stipend for the duration of the part time candidature.

The proposed supervisory team must comprise at least one female supervisor and one early/midcareer academic. This is a competitive scheme, and applications will be assessed based on the prospective student academic merit and research potential, on the strategic merit and alignment with Faculty research directions of the proposed project and on the supervisory team.

Application Deadline:

All applicants must have an approved EOI and have submitted a full application on the online HDR Application Portal with all necessary documents by October 31, 2019. For further details on what is required at application stage, please see the following website website.

For additional information:

For general information, and to identify potential supervisors in your area of interest, please contact [email protected]

Insert previous message below for editing? 
You haven’t included a message. Providing a specific message means universities will take your enquiry more seriously and helps them provide the information you need.
Why not add a message here
* required field
Send a copy to me for my own records.

Your enquiry has been emailed successfully


FindAPhD. Copyright 2005-2020
All rights reserved.