University College London Featured PhD Programmes
Imperial College London Featured PhD Programmes
The University of Manchester Featured PhD Programmes
Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council Featured PhD Programmes
European Molecular Biology Laboratory (Heidelberg) Featured PhD Programmes
Postgrad Awards - Showcasing the best supervisors, teachers and students.

Our shortlisted nominations

We’re delighted to be announcing the shortlist for the Postgrad Awards. We have been overwhelmed with the number of entries, each with their own unique qualities and inspiring stories.

Below you can see the shortlisted nominees in each category – congratulations to all of those shortlisted.

Masters student of the year
Beth Hawkes University of Plymouth
Bilal Bin Saqib London School of Economics and Political Science
Callum Noad UCFB Wembley
Marcelina Podesek University of Warwick
Thomas Ovenden Bangor University
Victoria Silverwood Keele University
Hannah Nutting University of Bradford
PhD student of the year
Ashleigh Johnstone Bangor University
Bethan Rogoyski University of Leicester
David Fallon University of Strathclyde
James Wingham University of Sheffield
Jessica Eyre University of Liverpool
Justine Tomlinson University of Bradford
Kate Massey-Chase University of Exeter
Masters teacher of the year
Ahmed Halawa Sheffield Teaching Hospitals
Anand Prathivadi Bhayankaram University of Bradford
David Holmes University of West of Scotland
Irena Cajner Mraovic University of Zagreb
Kevin Coward University of Oxford
PhD supervisor of the year
Aoife Daly University of Liverpool
Caroline J Hollins Martin Edinburgh Napier University
David Fletcher Loughborough University
Debra Cureton University of Wolverhampton
Helen Fillmore University of Portsmouth
Jim McKechnie University of West of Scotland

Prizes and awards

If you win one of our awards you'll receive the honour and recognition of being our inaugural prize winners.

All of our winners will receive a Postgrad Awards trophy, so you'll have a reminder that you're exceptional at what you do, and deserve a big thumbs up.

Postgrad Awards prizes

Our Masters and PhD student winners will receive a £500 cash prize as a reward for all of the hard work, dedication and commitment you've demonstrated as a postgraduate student. You'll also be featured in our blog pages which will showcase your success so far, your winning application, and discuss where you hope your career will take you.

Postgrad Awards prizes

Our Masters teachers and PhD supervisor winners will be featured as our PhD supervisor, or Masters teacher of the year in our e-newsletter which goes out to over 87,000 people, featured on our blog pages on or, and on our social channels. We want to showcase you, your courses or opportunities and your institution.

What happens next?

All of our shortlisted nominees have all been contacted.

Follow us across Facebook, Twitter and Instagram to keep up to date with this year’s Postgrad Awards, we will be announcing the winners across all of these channels and on and at the end of July.


If you’ve got any questions, please don't hesitate to contact [email protected]

FindAPhD. Copyright 2005-2019
All rights reserved.